Uncategorized

Guilt As A Second-Generation Immigrant: My Perspective As An Iranian-Canadian Student

Research shows that second generation immigrants are a demographic particularly susceptible to mental health struggles. We are left at a crossroad when it comes to our identity, being unable to relate fully to either where we are born nor where we are from. A common struggle is feeling the pressure of making your immigrant parents proud through academics. In cases such as these, it’s almost bittersweet — while you have high expectations set out for you, you also know how fortunate you are to have endless opportunities because of your parents. However, the guilt of having the luck to live in Canada can become much more all-consuming when you are reminded of the miseries your family and people back home face every day.

I myself am a second-generation immigrant, born in Canada with my parents being born in Iran. Due to the present political turmoil in my country, I have found it daunting to find an outlet to express my sorrow for witnessing my people, including helpless children, get killed, and I am overcome with the guilt of being unable to do anything productive seas away. To those unfamiliar with the complexities of the situation in Iran, voicing out against the terrorist regime, even overseas, can make you and your family victims of political persecution even if you choose to travel there. This is particularly a major risk if you are of a religious or ethnic minority. The fear of endangering your loved ones makes it a deterrent to spreading awareness, nonetheless reaching out to support to cope with your feelings. Personally, these last few months have been so indescribably tough, not only dealing with academics and personal matters such as moving to a new city and dealing with the grief of losing my grandparents but feeling helpless and voiceless in the issues that matter and impact me most significantly, knowing what my family in Iran is going through. Even when I am distracted with something, this guilt feels like a dark cloud backdrop in my mind. It has been hard to find a purpose or hope and it has been debilitating to my mental health, but I find a glimmer of peace knowing that I am not alone. 

I know that this is not only the fate of the Iranian diaspora but of many other nationalities such as Afghan and Yemeni people, Syrians, and Ukrainians, among so many others. While it is important to stay informed about what is happening in your country, it is pertinent to stay away from news overconsumption, and even spend more time reading about the little success stories in the midst of the madness. 

One thing that has really been helping me cope is getting involved in the USask community. While you may feel disheartened feeling like you have no impact on what’s happening in the world, it’s important that you see that you can elicit change at least on a local level. Volunteering is not only a means of impacting others in a meaningful way, but it also helps volunteers feel like they have a purpose. Another benefit is that by getting more involved in student groups (link:https://students.usask.ca/essentials/community.php#Studentgroups), you are able to find individuals with similar backgrounds that you can connect with. If you are experiencing extreme sadness or guilt, there are many mental supports and resources accessible on campus and online for students, such as the Student Wellness Centre, and the drop-in peer support through Peer Health.

Contributed By A Peer Health Volunteer

Leave a comment